My Cart0 $ 0.00
View Cart

South Australian Duck Season for 2016 announced

11th of January 2016

South Australia has announced it's duck season. See following for details.

An open season for a limited number of duck species has been approved from Saturday 19 March to Sunday 26 June 2016. Hunters may only take a total of 5 ducks per hunter per day.

The species to which the open season applies is limited to the following:

  • Grey Teal (Anas gracilis)
  • Chestnut Teal (Anas castanea)
  • Australian Wood Duck (Maned Duck) (Chenonetta jubata)
  • Pink-eared Duck (Malacorhynchus membranaceus)
  • Pacific Black Duck (Anas superciliosa)
  • Mountain Duck (Australasian Shelduck) (Tadorna tadornoides)  
In previous years hunters have been able to shoot Blue-winged Shoveler and Hardhead ducks. These species are not available to hunt in 2016.
Closed season for: 
  • Australasian (Blue-winged) Shoveler (Anas rhynchotis)
  • Hardhead (Aythya australis)

To shoot duck in South Australia a duck hunting permit is required. In order to obtain a duck hunting permit, hunters must have passed a Waterfowl Identification Test and have a firearms permit for a shotgun.

Individuals hunting on private land are required to have the written permission of the landowner.

Information taken from:

Department of Environment, Water and Natural Resources (DEWNR)

Open Source
Follow us - join the conversation
FacebookLatest newsLinkedInYouTube
Opening Hours
Mon – 9am to 5pm
Tues – 9am to 5pm
Wed (LATE) - 9am to 7pm
Thurs - 9am to 5pm
Friday - 9am to 5pm
Sat - 9am to 1pm
47 Assembly Drive,Tullamarine, Victoria, 3043
designed by MODD Digital Design
Copyright © | All Rights Reserved.

Sign up to our emails for new products and sales